November 29, 2007

Elijah finally gets out

Posted in knitting tagged , at 11:06 am by nephele

It took me quite a while (almost too long – the contest deadline is tomorrow) but I finally got some picture of Elijah out on an adventure. Here’s the first picture:
elijahadvent1

You can see the rest of the series here. Unfortunately it did not end well for poor Elijah. I’m sure he’ll be happy to be leaving soon to go live with my mother. She’ll take better care of him, no doubt.

Speaking of Elijah, a comment was left recently in Spanish which I think was asking for the pattern. So, just as a reminder you can buy the pattern from Ysolda’s shop.

In other Christmas knitting news, I finished the first sock for my brother and number two is on the needles. My LYS didn’t have any good, masculine looking sock yarns in stock except for some Colinette Jitterbug. Since my brother’s feet are bigger than mine, it would have taken two skeins of the Jitterbug to get a pair of socks for him – a bit pricey. Also, since this is the first pair I’m making for him I wanted to be sure and use yarn that had nylon reinforcement (Jitterbug is 100% merino). So I decide to go stash diving.

Now, I have lots of sock yarn stashed but the trouble is I bought it all with myself in mind. That doesn’t mean that the colors were all too girly – I like basic colored socks too. The problem is that I only had about 100g of any one color. I might be able to get a pair of socks done for my brother but it’s risky. Luckily I had a couple of nicely complementary colors in my Regia stash. I used the darker color for the toes, working toe up, then switched to the lighter color for the rest. I could then return to the dark color for the cuff either when I reached the right length or whenever the lighter yarn ran out. Since I like doing patterns but I needed to keep these simple I did a basic garter rib pattern switching to 2×2 rib for the cuff. I think they’re turning out pretty good:
marksock1

I pretty much made these up as I went along, taking just enough notes to be able to make the second sock. The colors will go great with jeans so he should get some use out of them.

THE list:

  1. My sister in law is getting the Mystery Stole – still needs blocking
  2. My brother is getting socks – a little over half done.
  3. Mom gets Elijah and (hopefully) a handspun scarf – Elijah is done but I haven’t been spinning at all, I need to get on that. 
  4. My aunt is getting a circular needle case and I’m going to pick up a skein of Jitterbug to add to her package.
1 Comment »

  1. Gretchen said,

    Elijah’s a honey!


Leave a Reply

