October 31, 2007

Boo!

Posted in Knitalongs, knitting tagged , , at 9:31 am by nephele

I used to dress up every year for halloween. I would usually go for classic monsters. I’ve been a witch, ghost, vampire, werewolf and bride of Frankenstein. Then one year I didn’t have an idea in time to get anything together and the whole thing just sort of fizzled out. I made a couple of lame efforts – wearing my SCA  garb for instance – but nothing at all the last few years. I’ve lost my halloween mojo. So sad.

Halloween was always one of my favorites as a child. You got to dress up as anything you wanted and go run around the neighborhood at night collecting tons of candy. I grew up in southern California so the weather was always perfect even at the end of October. One of the other things Halloween had going for it was the lack of visiting relatives. We didn’t have to watch our manners or be relegated to the kid’s table at dinner. Halloween was nothing but fun and too much candy – and scary stuff. Can’t forget the scary stuff.

I’m not a big fan of the modern slasher films but old fashioned spooky stuff is great fun. I remember racing home from school so that I could get my homework done by 4pm. We had to finish our homework before we could watch TV and Dark Shadows came on at 4. I never missed it. It was one of the few shows my brother and I never argued about.

So what does all this have to do with knitting? Not a thing, I’m just meandering a bit.

On the knitting front, I’ve started the collar for my Capecho.
capecho2collar

It won’t be long before I can wear it. I’m looking forward to adding this to my wardrobe. I’ve been almost monogamous with this project, just the occasional fling here and there, like finishing chart A of the Mystic Waters shawl:
MWchartA

I didn’t manage to finish the first clue, darn it, but at least it looks more like something than the previous photo.

Here it is the last day of Socktober and I have almost nothing to show for it. I did finish the Xmas stockings which are nearly socks but I started them at the end of August and worked on them through September. I probably spent about a day and half of Socktober working on them and most of that was embroidery not knitting. I did get some new sock yarn and a sock book or two and just last night I started a sock with some of the new yarn and one of the books. When I say started though, I mean just started see:
catsock

I’m using the Sockotta that I got from Romancing the Yarn and some Jawoll Cotton from my stash to make the Clematis Socks from New Pathways for Sock Knitters. There are several sock patterns in this book that I intend to make or adapt and this is one  of my favorites. I’ve been resisting ever since I got the book but I finally broke last night. It’s crazy. I’ve already got four other pairs of socks on the needles. I didn’t need to make it five, really. I’m weak.

Leave a Reply

