October 21, 2007

It’s been a busy week…

Posted in knitting, Spinning, Yarn Stash at 1:33 pm by nephele

…but not in the fun way. Just busy with work (and work emergency on my day off – joy). I knew I would be busy so that part was okay. The emergencies I could have lived without. I guess that’s the risk you take when you’re the entire computer department for a retailer with computerized cash registers. They do appreciate me which makes all the difference.

I did find time to do some knitting. When last photographed the Capecho looked like this:

capecho2-7pentagons

I’ve since completed three more pentagons and I’m on number 11 which is that last one. After I finish it, I’ll have the sleeves and collar left to do. The mornings have been just chilly enough lately that I’m really motivated to finish this.

I finished knitting those Christmas stockings a couple of weeks ago. Now they are done done. I’ve added beads and sequins and duplicate stitched the names on the four that got names (the two blanks are spares for future need).

stockingsfinished

I’ll try to get the designs charted up this week. They’re all about 30 rows high so they’d be cute on baby sweaters too. Just a thought.

I’ve already set up a page in the free patterns section for charted designs. It’s even got a chart on it (couldn’t have a blank page after all). The chart is for a version of the San Jose Sharks new logo. Why? No, not a big hockey fan though they would be the local team if I was. I’m knitting a sweater for a friend (who is a fan) in Sharks colors and I’ve noticed quite a few people finding blog by search for San Jose Sharks knitting patterns. I figured I might as well give them something for their efforts.

In addition to a bit of knitting and charting and finishing, I’ve also managed a little stash enhancing – though I did have help.

The lovely ladies over at Romancing the Yarnare giving away sock yarn every day for the month of Socktober. I won on my lucky day (the 13th – I’m just contrary that way). My prize arrived and it couldn’t be more perfect:

Sockotta30

The colors are right up my alley and the yarn is 45% cotton which, despite my tendency to buy wool, is actually better for the climate here. With those bright, candy colors I’ll have to do something lacey for spring wear. And yes, the candy was in the package too. Mint taffy, it was yummy; now it’s gone 😉

Another stash assist came in the form a ‘just because’ gift from my friend Sarah. She and Measure stopped by the yarn shop and dropped off a little wheel warming present.

FiberFiend

Apparently she’s had this since Stitches West and was planning to spin it up for me but what with giving birth and all… I guess she’s been a tad busy. It all worked out though because now I get to spin it up. It’s 55% Merino/45% Tencel from Fiber Fiend in the color Flame. Now do I spin this first for me or do I spin the pink and green roving that’s earmarked for my mother’s Christmas present? Time is short so I should work on my Mom’s but I just got the wheel last month so I should practice on my own stuff. Oh what a dilemma!

Here’s the one stash addition that’s entirely my own fault. I was at my LYS when they were checking in a shipment of Diakeito yarns. I didn’t even let them tag these:

Diakeito Diarufran

I bought the entire bag. It’s Diarufran which is worsted weight, 100% wool with a light weight chain construction. Each 40g ball has 161 yards on it. I bought all ten so I have 1610 yards of this pretty stuff. Now what to make… Nope, not yet. I have to finish the Capecho first but hey, maybe another Norah Gaughan pattern. The colors would be very pretty in one of here hexagon designs like the one in the new issue of VK. File that under soon.

3 Comments »

  1. Gretchen said,

    Those are great yarns– and what a great present from Sarah! And thanks to you, Nephele, for the link to the ginger forest photo. You just happened to have that up your sleeve? I wound my “ginger” Saki, which doesn’t look as tropically gorgeous now as it did in the skein– the color sections are shorter than I’d like, but one can’t have everything. Maybe I should just unwind it again and pose the skein artistically in my knitting corner. After all, I don’t need more yarn right now, since after almost a year of determined stash-busting I lashed out on four (counting the Saki) pairs’ worth of sock yarn. Oops. What happened to that impulse control?

  2. priya carden said,

    i am looking for the diakeito diarufran yarn to purchase color #212, but can’t seem to find it anywhere…any suggestions?

  3. Ruby Duffield said,

    Hello;

    Don’t know if you can help me, but I am looking for one ball (or more, if available), of the Diarufran yarn by Diakeito in color numer 215. The dye lot I have is O, but I don’t even care if it’s the same dye lot.

    Thanks for any help you can give me. Your site was the first that came up when I Googled the yarn.

    Ruby Duffield


Leave a Reply

