October 7, 2007

Xmas stockings are like socks

Posted in Spinning, Yarn Stash tagged at 12:50 pm by nephele

Right?

I hope so, because Socktober just started and this is what I was finishing up:
stockings5

They’re all knit now. I spent a good portion of Friday sewing beads and sequins on to the motifs – ’cause it ain’t Christmas if it isn’t at least a little tacky. On Saturday I started duplicate stitching the names, putting in all the yarn ends, seaming and adding crochet chain hanging loops. I’ve got one left to do. As soon as I finish it this project can be sent off to the customer with plenty of time left before Christmas too.

Since it is Socktober (I’ll grab any excuse, just watch me) I bought some more sock yarn yesterday.
saki_wound

Those are all Prism Yarns Saki. The colors are (clockwise from top left) Garden, Embers, Jelly Bean and Carnation. The Embers and Carnation are tone-on-tone enough to take some pretty significant pattern stitches. Knowing me, they’ll end up lacy. The other two color will be best as simple socks though the Jelly Bean is arguing that it’d look great in feather and fan. The Garden may just end up in a basic ribbed sock. I don’t want anything to interfere with it’s gorgeous, heathery colors.

Sarah said:

Gorgeous wheel! Definitely worth a few bruises. I do like those Carolina Homespun people, I always buy some fiber from them at Stitches.

You’re right about it being worth it! I’ve spent an hour or two every day spinning. The first day I didn’t produce anything worth keeping but since then I’ve been filling up bobbins. I finished up the second bobbin last night. Tonight I’m going to try to ply for the first time. Wish me luck.

I’m itching to move on to the Merino/Tencel roving I bought last week but I don’t want to waste it. If I manage a passable job of plying the BFL I may just have to jump in. I’ve already got plans about what I’ll knit with it when it is spun up. Nothing like putting the cart before the horse, eh?

No new photo, ’cause it really doesn’t look all that different yet, but I’m continuing to work on my Tweedy Cashmere Capecho. I’m on Pentagon number 5. There are 7 in the first row, I’ll take another picture when those are done. The last couple of mornings have been a bit chilly which is great encouragement to keep knitting. I’m toying with making mine with long sleeves. My torso doesn’t get cold nearly as quickly as my arms do. That would be why I have a pretty good collection of arm warmers and plans to add more to the pile. I think that long sleeves would make the Capecho a lot more useful to me. Plus, more soft cashmere blend on my arms where I’ll be able to appreciate it – not a bad thing 😉

Off to think more about what I’m going to knit from all the yarn I haven’t made yet…

2 Comments »

  1. Nicole said,

    I hope stockings count! I started one of mine yesterday. Yours look awesome and I’m in awe of the number… as I am grumbling about doing two. I LOVE the reindeer one!

  2. Gretchen said,

    Fab sock yarns! I must check it out, didn’t realize Prism did sock yarn. . .


Leave a Reply

