October 4, 2007

The bruises have almost healed

Posted in Spinning, Yarn Stash at 10:37 am by nephele

What bruises? We’ll get to that, promise.

So last Friday I was scheduled to help out at my LYS’s booth at the Knitting and Crochet show in Oakland. One of the ladies from the shop was also working there that day and she was going to give me a ride. I think I’ve mentioned my car-less state in the past (yes, it is possible to live in California without a car – just). Anyway… I got a call on Wednesday telling me that she wouldn’t be able to make it so I was on my own. At least it was a weekday so all the commute transit was running. I made it there okay – in fact I was the first person at the booth that morning. I had plenty of time to wander around and check out all the other booths before the show opened.

I had a pretty long commute (across 3 transit agency) to get there so I needed to bring some knitting to work on. I finished knitting the last of the six stockings on Thursday so that was out. I thought about just grabbing one of my socks-in-progress but I wanted something a little bigger. I was reminded recently about the Capecho that I’d just barely started for myself last spring so I dug that out. It was perfect, enough pattern to keep me entertained but not so much that I had to constantly refer to the chart plus it was a design I’d knit before so there wouldn’t be any unpleasant surprises out on the bridge in the middle of the bay. Now it finally looks like more that a cast on:
capecho2

The yarn isn’t really as red as it looks here. It’s Tweedy Cashmere by Filatura Di Crosa (now, sadly discontinued) which is a four ply yarn. Three of those plies are navy blue and only one is red but for whatever reason the red was more photogenic. I’ve added another two pentagons since taking that picture. It really does make for good bus knitting so that’s what I’ve been carrying around this week.  At home I’ve been working on something else.

I’ve been wanting to get a spinning wheel for a couple of years now. I’ve been playing around with drop spindles but I never seem to get much done with them. I spindle best standing up and about the only time I do much standing around is when I’m waiting for the bus. Once I’m on the bus I can spindle spin so it’s easier to just knit the whole time. So my plan was to look for a wheel at the show. I’d be able (hopefully) to try some out and take one home with me that day. So while I was wandering around the hall before it opened I kept my eyes peeled for wheels (and roving, ’cause you know…). There were two booths with wheels but one of them had several display models set up so that’s where I went later in the day. Results?
wheel3

And now we get to the bruises. It’s not a heavy wheel but the box is a bit too large to be easy to handle. Having to carry it up and down stairs, in and out of buses and trains and down the sidewalk all resulted in some pressure bruises on my forearms where the corner of the box rested. The original plan was to have a ride home of course and the shop owners did offer to take custody of the wheel for me and get it to me later. But… then I wouldn’t have it until later! Totally worth the bruises. I did have a soak in the tub before I opened the box though.

The folks I bought her from (Carolina Homespun) threw in 2 pounds of BFL to get me started so I got started.
wheel2
wheel5
wheel6

Total crap beginner yarn but I don’t care. I’m having fun and the only way to get better is to keep on spinning right?

It’s a Lendrum Folding Wheel – not because I plan to carry it around to a lot of places, but rather because I have a small apartment and it takes up less floor space than the traditional type. I treated myself to the complete version so my box included:
wheel4

From the left: a jumbo (plying) flyer assembly, a fast (lace) flyer and a lazy kate with three more standard bobbins (for a total of 4 standard and 1 jumbo). I should be set for a while.

Thanks to that big bag of BFL I ended up not buying anymore roving – that day. I do have a small fiber stash huddled in amongst the enormous yarn stash so I’ve got a few things to play with anyway. I’ll practice with the BFL first.
bobbin1

I finished with that bobbin last night and started a second. As soon as I fill up number two I’ll try my hand at plying them together. The finished yarn will go off to a friend of mine who has been playing with natural dyes. She came up with one recently that made a really nice plum. I’ve asked her to same me some of that. Once it’s dyed up I’ll see what I can knit with it – always assuming I don’t completely screw up the yarn first.

When I tried out the display wheel at the booth they had some merino/tencel that I got to  play with. Yummy stuff and so easy to draft. I didn’t buy any roving at the show but I may have had a little accident over at Etsy. I’ve been trying to collect a variety of fibers/sheep breeds to play with so I could learn the differences and just get to know them better. In addition to the Bluefaced Leicester, I have Merino, Corriedale, Romney and about and ounce of Zwartble. I also have some silk hankies that I want to play with dying. Now, thanks to this shop, I have:
roving1

From left: Falkland, the Merino/Tencel I went looking for in the first play and a little sample of Merino superwash. I’m already plotting what I could knit with that Tencel blend. I think I’m going to like this spinning stuff.

Lest you get the impression that the wheel is all I got at the show…
tkga1
addi hook
TKS yarnTKS yarn2
malabrigo lace

The magazines were freebies – though by the time I made it home there extra weight was starting to cost me. The ivory colored stick is actually an Addi crochet hook in 0.60mm. I got it for putting beads on yarn. It’s a little finer than the one I used on the Mystery Stole and the cover means I probably won’t destroy it when I toss it in my knitting bag.

I really hadn’t planned to buy any (much) yarn but I was wearing my Clapotis that day and the wool/bamboo/nylon sock yarn was an almost perfect match. Clearly, I had to have it. I had planned to look for some heavier lace yarn for one of the new mystery knit-a-longs I joined last week. This malabrigo lace is perfect. Enough variegation to please me but not so much that it’ll fight with the stitch patterns. I’m currently planning to use it for the Secret of Chrysopolis stole. I’m still swatching though so that could change. The crazy thing is that both of these yarns came from the booth I was working. Technically they came from my LYS but if I hadn’t bought them there, they probably wouldn’t have made it back to the store and I’d never have got them. At least the yarn wasn’t heavy.

Well I think I’ve gone on long enough. Next time: plying (maybe).

1 Comment »

  1. Sarah said,

    Gorgeous wheel! Defintely worth a few bruises. I do like those Carolina Homespun people, I always buy some fiber from them at Stitches.


Leave a Reply

