August 30, 2007

Finished, then finished some more.

Posted in Knitalongs, knitting at 5:32 pm by nephele

I finished the Lutea Shell. I knew from the beginning that I wasn’t going to want the rolled hem (I don’t need any extra rolls of anything around waist/hip area). Originally, I thought I’d just do a bit of crochet to tame the edge but after trying on the finished top I decide the length, while correct for the pattern, wasn’t good for me. Since I’d only used 6 of the 8 balls of yarn I’d bought I had no trouble adding to the length. So now it’s really done, see:

Lutea finished

The yarn was Cascade Pima Silk and even with the extra on the bottom I only used 7 balls to make the pattern in the largest size. Not bad.

The Mystery Stole 3 is almost done. I’ve got less than 10 rows to go but it’s been too hot and sticky to work on it at home and there are too many beads in the last few rows to make it a viable carry around project. I’ll take it to the yarn shop with me tomorrow. I’ve only got two students last time I checked so I shouldn’t have any trouble finishing it there. I haven’t taken any new pictures so look at the last photo and image more feathers in the wing section. I’ll be sure to take before and after blocking pictures for next time.

Now that the Lutea Shell is done and one of my 5mm needles is freed up, I’ve started something new.
Custom1

Any one want to guess what it is?

2 Comments »

  1. knittingnoob said,

    Do we get to see it on? It’s pretty, lovely color. And I certainly don’t blame you, I prefer longer shirts/sweaters.

    I have no idea what you’re working on now, but I’ll guess something xmasy, since it looks red and white :p Hope its a fun knit!

  2. Gretchen said,

    Your Lutea looks much better than the original– the lace hem suits it better than a stockinette curl. Good idea!


Leave a Reply

