August 9, 2007

It’s a bird it’s a plane!

Posted in Knitalongs at 5:46 pm by nephele

Or at least it’s a wing – on the Mystery Stole 3. See:
MS3 Clue 5

That’s the start of the wing section at the bottom of the picture. See the feathers?
MS3 Clue 5 closeup

It turns out that the theme is indeed Swan Lake (I was so sure that couldn’t be it!). So the stole will end with a swan wing. This does open up some interesting possibilities for reusing this pattern. I could omit the wing and make two pointed sections – this idea is why Melanie had us put that lifeline in on clue 4. She was worried some folks would be unhappy with the wing. The lifeline is where you’d want to stop if you were going to graft two identical pieces together. She’s also working on a version that has two wings instead of the point at one end.

I’m not sure at this point if I love the wing but I know I don’t hate it. I don’t think I’ll be able to decide until the whole thing is finished and blocked. That shouldn’t be too much longer though. We get clue #6 of 7 tomorrow. Unless she has us put an edging around the whole thing in clue 7, I should be finished knitting the stole in about 10 days. I finished this last clue on Sunday. It just took me a while to get around to taking a picture – sorry.

I’ve made good progress on the Lutea Shell too. It’s still not much to look at, all stockinette, but it’s quite a bit longer. Lutea2

I’m past the waist and am almost done with the bust increases. Once I get going on the armholes the lace will come up quick. Of course by then I’ll be almost finished with it. I’m toying with the idea of putting a round or two of crochet on the hem. It’s meant to be a rolled hem and I find those annoying to wear. The cotton/silk yarn may just end up flopping down anyway though. I’ll wait until I’ve finished the top and tried it on. If I do crochet it’ll probably just be a bit of crab-stitch.

Well, that’s it today. I just wanted to get the overdue MS3 pictures up before the nest clue arrives. šŸ˜‰

1 Comment »

  1. Ingrid said,

    Hi Liz! I actually dreamt about this shawl last night – it’s really beautiful! My camera is missing its charger; no photos and no postings unfortunately:( Hopefully we’ll find it soon…


Leave a Reply

