July 5, 2007

The 5200

Posted in Knitalongs at 4:48 pm by nephele

5200 knitters signed up for the Mystery Stole 3 Knitalong – and counting! You can still sign up. Come on, you know you want to. All the cool kids are doing it.

I finished clue 1 last night and we don’t get clue 2 until tomorrow morning so it’s back to my (many, many, many) other WIPs until then. Here’s my progress so far:
MS3 clue 1 complete

I’m very happy with the varigation on this yarn. Most people would guess that I’d have picked one of the stronger colors that Prism Yarns are known for and I’ll admit I was tempted, but I knew that a strongly varigated yarn would fight with an intricate lace pattern. So I bought the Fog. I was hoping the colors wouldn’t obscure the lace and it’s looking like I’m going to be good there. By the way, there are beads in there but they match really well. They show up when the light catches them.

Since my rampant ADKD fueled startitis won’t allow to start just one project, I had to start another one.
runway cardigan

This ended up just being the swatch but I’ve already started over for real. The yarn is Rowan Plaid and I’m doing a variation on the Cosmopolitan Cardigan from Runway Knits.

I just got the book last week from a friend at my LYS. She’s someone I helped out with some knitting woes and this was her thank you. Nice, huh? There are several really nice designs in this book. Mostly the sizing isn’t large enough for me, but that just takes a little arithmatic. I’m used to that. This project took a little more math than usual because my yarn is a different gauge than Aurora Bulky the pattern used.

I’m hopeful that I’ve finally got something I’ll finish in this yarn (it’s my third try). I’ve made two other pieces with Plaid, so it’s not the yarns fault. The first attempt was a poncho with a few cables. It wasn’t a bad idea but I was over ponchos before I’d knit more than half of it. Then I tried knitting an uber cozy shawl with it, something to wrap up with in the winter time over some hot cocoa. I didn’t get too far on that before realizing that was what the afghan is good for. There’s a limit to how many cozy woolie wraps a Californian can really use. So, a cardigan. I like cardigans. When you get on the bus or go into a store you can open them up so that you don’t get too warm. Once back outside, you can button (or in this case, hook) them up again. Plus, size 11 needles and solid seed stitch makes for good breaks in the lace knitting. And speaking of the lace again…

Cathy-Cate said:

Actually, I think Swan Lake, romantic ballet though it is, wouldn’t necessarily be appropriate for a wedding, because everybody dies in it. Kind of like Romeo and Juliet! Romance, yes; but no wedding bells for the star-crossed lovers. So I still think that might fit — white swan, black swan. Otherwise, no clue here!
Just wound up my white-ish yarn tonight, ready to knit, after knitting clue 1 in black. I don’t think I”ll be able to keep up knitting two stoles, unless I did no other knitting and refused to interact with my family, but at least I’ll start it!

I think Swan Lake works great for the black or white color scheme. Some of the other suggestions have been interesting too. We’ll just have to wait and see (and guess in the meantime). Whatever the theme turns out to be, I’m sure the stole will be lovely.

I’ve notice quite a few people are making two stoles. I don’t think I’d want to. Not two in the same pattern anyway. There are so many other patterns I want to make and only so much knitting time. I have a hard enough time making that second sock!

Speaking of which, I did finish the Zarina socks:
Zarina Spiral Socks

I think they came out pretty cute. I may have to make a pair for me some day. You know, when I’ve got nothing else to knit 😉

1 Comment »

  1. Ingrid said,

    Hi Liz! The shawl looks great – just wanted to thank you for the gorgeous baby cardigan! Gwyneth is wearing it as I type; I’ll post a photo today:) I miss knitting with everyone – anyone up for a knit night at my house sometime?


Leave a Reply

