June 19, 2007

Self control is overrated anyway

Posted in Knitalongs, Secret Pal 10 at 4:43 pm by nephele

I couldn’t help myself. Okay, I admit it; I didn’t even try to stop myself. I joined another knit-a-long. The Mystery Stole #3 knit-a-long to be precise. It’s all Kay’s fault. If she hadn’t posted the link, I wouldn’t have clicked on it. I never would have seen the gorgeous designs two of which were previous Mystery Stoles. But she did and I did and that’s that. Personal responsibility, what’s that?

The way mystery patterns work (at least the ones I’ve seen) is that you get a piece of the pattern, usually one per week. What you don’t get is a picture of the finished item or any solid information on the theme or design inspiration. You take it all on trust. Since this is a lace stole, what we’ll get is a chart and any necessary notes.

Pre-blogging days I –mostly– did one of the mystery shawls and the designer really kept us guessing. I kept trying to figure out what part of the shawl we were on and what would come next. I got it wrong every time. I finished most of that shawl. I still have the bulk of the edging to do. One of these days it’ll rise to the top of the UFO pile…

The only real clues we’ve got about the theme of the stole is that black or white yarn would most closely express the theme and that even if you make it in white, you shouldn’t plan on it being a good bridal stole. I love a good mystery 🙂

I didn’t have enough white lace weight in my stash and no black at all, so I decide to use this:
Prism Lace Wool

It’s Prism Yarn Lace Wool in the color Fog. We’ve been told we need about 1,200 yards and this is 1,460.

The design calls for (optional) beads. I took my yarn to the bead store yesterday and picked these up:
Frosted Beads

If all of this sounds interesting to you, join the fun! It’s not a race or competition, you can save the clues and knit later if you like. The only time sensitive aspect is when we’ll find out what the design is (sometime in August). The first clue comes out on June 29th and sign ups are open until July 6th.

Speaking of races and competitions… The new round of Death by Socks did finally start up and sadly, my days are already numbered. The person knitting for me mailed my socks yesterday. She’s in Alaska so I might have a few days left but not many. Darn that midnight sun! I bet she knit around the clock. On the plus side I won’t have to worry about working on socks when I want to work on the Mystery Stole. Silver lining!

Unsurprisingly, my readership went down during my little unplanned hiatus. But I still get comments!

Mac’s Niece said:

Hi!

Wow! That did get there fast! Glad you liked this little assortment of things, and thanks for stopping by my blog. I kicked myself that I had not posted a recent kntting entry before your visit.

I have really enjoyed being your secret pal, and have loved hearing about all your projects… this blog is definitely on my list of those to pay a regular visit to.

Not to worry, I went back quite a bit and read several posts. I wanted to make sure your secret pal spoiled you as well as you spoiled me and it looks like she(?) did. I’ve added you to my list of blogs as well. I’ll be stopping by from time to time to see what you’re up to. 🙂

Once again, thanks for everything. It’s all marvelous. I had a lot of fun spoiling and getting spoiled.

3 Comments »

  1. Gretchen said,

    Black or white best express the theme? Would that mean a spiderweb (but most lace shawls could be spiderwebs)? Or a shroud. . . now THAT’S a creepy thought!

  2. Gretchen said,

    Oh, I just read the stole-along link– it must be the cloak of invisibility!

    PS: If you like Hogwarts, see http://www.keplers.com for all kinds of Harry Potter-related doodads. They’ve got wands for sale!

  3. Cathy-Cate said,

    Love those beads with that yarn — gorgeous!

    Wish I had some idea about the theme to be able to pick colors/yarns/beads better — but I really have no clue; other than Swan Lake, which seems not likely given a prior swan-themed stole, I just don’t resonate with any of the other theme guesses. But I guess that’s what makes it fun! And if it doesn’t ‘match’ the theme, it’ll still be beautiful based on Melanie’s other designs, eh?


Leave a Reply

