June 14, 2007

Secret Pal 10

Posted in Secret Pal 10 at 4:52 pm by nephele

First let me say that British mail is very efficient. My no-longer-Secret Pal put the last package in the mail on the 11th and I got it on the 13th. Central England to the California coast in two days. I don’t think the US mail could manage that.

And what was in that package I hear you ask? Why goodies of course, see:
SP10 package #3

More yarn by the same hand dyer responsible for the wool/silk blends in the last package. I have the label handy so I can tell you the shop is The Yarn Gallery in Bury St. Edmunds (what a delightfully British name that is). The yarn this time is called Brazen and is 100% wool in a bulky, thick/thin, single ply. The color is Autumn Leaf – dye lot #1 – and boy did they nail that color. It’s very autumnal. It would be great in a loopy scarf. I’ll have to be on the look out for some coordinating mohair. I’ve got several colors in my stash but none of them work with this except for some orange that I’m already using for something else. A nice chocolate brown would be nice… or perhaps a golden color.

My pal went for the full sensory experience again. As soon as the envelope was open a scent wafted out. Not lavender this time but still something floral. It turned out to be the packet of Hyacinth potpouri. I’ve got some patterns that will make nice sachets and now I have something to put in them. One of the patterns is for a silly looking little sheep. I’ve already bought yarn for that one. So, Hyacinth the Sheep is now in my knitting queue.

There’s still more… the bundle was wrapped in a ribbon and topped with a hand knit rosette – I was too busy check it all out to get a before picture, sorry. On the lower left of the picture is a package of hand dyed ribbon. Pretty stuff. In the middle of the picture is a little gold bundle. It contained an assortment of beads and buttons, see:
buttons and beads

I love ’em all. The larger buttons already have me thinking about what I can make to put them on. Some of the beads may have to become stitch markers. I particularly like the orange bead in the middle. It’s got silver wire wrapped around it and is very pretty.

Oops, I’ll have to cut this short now. I’ve got to get to the post office and get my last SP10 package out to my spoilee.

Thanks again Pal! You did good. I love it all and I definitely plan to sign up again for SP11 when it becomes available.

1 Comment »

  1. Mac's Niece said,

    Hi!

    Wow! That did get there fast! Glad you liked this little assortment of things, and thanks for stopping by my blog. I kicked myself that I had not posted a recent kntting entry before your visit.

    I have really enjoyed being your secret pal, and have loved hearing about all your projects… this blog is definitely on my list of those to pay a regular visit to.


Leave a Reply

