March 6, 2007

Progress Report

Posted in Knitalongs, knitting at 1:20 pm by nephele

I think it’s time to check my progress on various things.

New Year’s Resolution:

I resolved to keep up a minimum of 2 posts per week. A quick check showed posts on these days:

1/31 & 2/1
2/7 & 2/8
2/11 & 2/12 & 2/14
2/18 & 2/20 & 2/21
2/26 & 3/1

Looks like the resolution is doing what I intended. I’ve even got a couple of extra posts in there. Hopefully I can keep up the momentum.

Knitting games:

Headgames is over and a winner has been declared. I managed to take out 3 players before declaring my own demise. My hat never did show up (and the post office wonders why their business is declining…). I did receive a nice thank you gift from the organizer. I think I mentioned before that I volunteered to help her. Anyway, I got a surprise package in the mail yesterday. It contained a thank you card and these:

Stitch Markers

She picked the color base on my stated preferences for hat color. They’re perfect. I have some small beaded markers but these are large enough to fit on bigger needles. What a neat surprise.

Jynxed, the Headgames organizer is considering running another game but it won’t be for a while yet. She’s got other projects that need her attention and I’m sure she wouldn’t mind a break just in general.

Death by Socks round 1 is coming to a close. No winner yet but there’s less than 6 people left I think. I only took out one person but I did get to knit a little bit on another pair of socks.

Sign-ups have begun for Round 2, no start date yet though. I suspect it will depend on when round 1 really ends. The organizer is also having people test knit the patterns so that will delay the start a bit as well. There were a few bits of pattern confusion during round 1. The test knitting should make things clearer for future rounds. To keep the test knitters from having a big advantage, she’s having several patterns tested at once. No one but her will know which pattern is actually next so no head starts.

The Knit-off has started but I dropped out. I had a horrible sense of deja vu. The game had started – some people were finishing the first round – but there were important questions. The pattern called for a different gauge of yarn than what we’d been told to prepare, not a big problem since it was a scarf. The problem came in that the pattern didn’t make it clear how many rows to do. It did give a finished, blocked length but individual gauge can cause variations there. So people wanted to know what to do. Unfortunately a couple of days went by with no answer. I started to worry that the whole game would be plagued by problems like this (something similar happened with Sock Wars), so I dropped out. The situation was making me feel stressed out. Now, several days later, I wish I’d stuck with it but last weekend I was still unwell and just couldn’t cope. This particular issue has since been resolved and with luck there won’t be any more. I wish everyone still involved well. The one problem Knitoff won’t have is mailing issues. You keep (or give away, or frog) everything. The only things the competitors have to send off are digital pictures and emails.

Blog Projects:

Project Spectrum 2.0 has entered its second month. The colors haven’t changed yet. Each set of 3 colors runs for two months. Look for different colors in April. In the meantime I’ll continue knitting white, blue and gray swatches for…

The Walker Treasury Project is building up momentum. There are already more than 60 swatches posted. I added two more swatches today myself. I’ve got another swatch on the needles and several more lined up. It’s really fun to knit interesting swatches for the swatches sake. No need to get a certain gauge, so no re-knitting with different needles or yarn. Just knitting. You should try it. There are still plenty of patterns to swatch.

Secret Pal 10 sign ups have closed. I posted my survey answers and now await my pal assignment. The pairings go out on the 15th of this month. I won’t have long to wait. I’m looking forward to this. I love getting and giving random gifts and that’s kind of the whole point of the secret pal exchanges.

Knitting:

The Capecho … garment is slowly growing. It’s actually a very easy knit. The only reason it’s moving slowly is because I’m using off white, expensive cashmere and I don’t want to get it dirty or messed up so I only work on it at home or at the yarn shop. I’ll take a progress photo before my next post.

The Clapotis on the other had is being knit with a nice brown and burgundy yarn.  This is the one I’m carry around for commute knitting.

Clapotis

As I think you can see in the picture I started off gartering the stitches that were going to be dropped. I didn’t want to have to fiddle with a marker every six stitchs so this took care of that. My knit and purl tension are identical and once dropped you can’t see any difference. It slowed me down a little though so I tried working the pattern with no markers. That was okay but I had to count and did manage to mess up once. So… I put in some regular stitch markers and have been slogging away at it. I think I might go back to garter stitching the to-be-dropped stitches. We’ll see.

I’ve started the second Bumblebug sock. I currently expect to have the pattern posted by the end of this weekend.

All the many, many, many other UFOs are languishing while I work to finish up these three.

Comments:

I’ve noticed that Akismet, the comment spam filter, has been reporting spam comments but then deleting them before I can check and make sure they really are junk. I don’t think it’s been deleting any real comments but if you’ve left one and I haven’t responded… If you are getting trapped by the filter or just want to contact me in a non-public venue, you can email me at: nepheleb AT gmail DOT com. Replace the ‘AT’ and ‘DOT’ with the obvious. Unless you say otherwise, I’ll assume that email comments should remain private. Speaking of comments:

Gretchen said:

Oh, I love that Colinette “Bright Charcoal” every time I see it in the skein. This is the first time I’ve seen it worked up– I wonder how it will look in mohair. . .

Less striped I think and generally more subtle. All the mohairs seem to be more mixed, probably because of that mohair halo. The Bright Charcoal mohair certainly looks more generally gray than the sock yarn does. It’s very pretty. Hmmm, I think I hear some yarn calling me…

1 Comment »

  1. Your UK secret pal said,

    Hello Nephele!

    I am your secret pal for SP10. I have really enjoyed looking through your blog, and reading your SP10 answers. Wow! what a lot of projects you have on the go. I have really enjoyed reading about your choice of yarns too.

    I am busy putting together a package for you… I will leave you a comment or email you when I post it.

    Being from the UK, I am not familar with some of the groups and projects you mention, so it is good to learn about them.

    I will send more news in your package.

    Your secret pal!


Leave a Reply

