March 1, 2007

Nothing to See

Posted in knitting at 1:33 pm by nephele

Why? Because I didn’t take any pictures. Yes, I know, bad blogger, no cookie. I haven’t done a ton of knitting this week though. I’m still not 100% in the healthy department. Apparently the  flu that’s been going around is the bug that keeps on giving. So I’ve been a bit listless this week.

I have done a little bit of knitting. I’ve put a couple more pentagons on the Capecho shrug/bolero/cropped sweater/thingie, oh heck, garment! I’ve mentioned it before. It’s the… garment… on the cover of the current Vogue Knitting. I also started the Clapotis with the Brooks Farm Yarn’s Acero I bought at Stitches. I got to the first dropping of stitches on it last night so now it’s fun. It’s also a pretty easy knit which is good given my current cognitive abilities – which is to say: none.

Speaking of cognitive abilities, I see from the comments that I managed to identify every yarn in my last post except the one in the socks. I have mentioned it before but still.

So, for Gretchen: the Bumblebug socks are being made with Colinette Jitterbug in Bright Charcoal. By the way, much comment has been made in blogs about the short yardage on Jitterbug. I do make short socks but I have wide-ish feet and fat ankles so take that into account. The point is: my finished sock weighs 44 grams and my sock plus the remaining yarn weighed in at 110 grams.  It was supposed to be a 100 gram skein but it was a humid day, which is why I weighed all the yarn together. Clearly, I’ll have no trouble finishing the second sock. I have started writing up the pattern but I’ll want to test it with the second sock so I probably won’t post it for at least a week.

Short post, but that’s about all I have in me today. Time for a nap.

1 Comment »

  1. Gretchen said,

    Oh, I love that Colinette “Bright Charcoal” every time I see it in the skein. This is the first time I’ve seen it worked up– I wonder how it will look in mohair. . .


Leave a Reply

