February 8, 2007

Flower Power

Posted in knitting at 9:12 am by nephele

The Noni Majolica bag is now completely knit up. Next the parts need to be felted. That’ll just leave the assembly – flowers and handles sewn to bag – and it will be done. Speaking of flowers, take a look at these:

Noni Bag Flowers

Yes, that’s a yardstick below them. The center flower is almost a foot wide! It’ll be very interesting to see how they come out after a couple of trips through the washing machine. I’ll be sure and take pictures.

I was listening to the latest Lime & Violet podcast and the ladies talked about the Walker Treasury Project. Since I signed up as a contributor, I have access to the blog stats for it. There is definitely a lot of buzz out there for this project. I wonder how long it’ll actually take for us all to knit every swatch? Maybe we should start a pool going.

The one down side about seeing the WTP blog stats is that I inevitably compare them to my own blog. I do not come out well in that comparison. I realize I’m just one of the more recent entries in the vast world of knit blogs but it’s hard not to feel a little bit like I’m losing yet another popularity contest. I’m just a bit tired and depressed this week though. Next week I’ll probably be excited that the WTP is sending a few hits my way.

I don’t want to end on a depressing note, luckily there’s a new comment to respond to.

Céline said:

I am drooling with envy! You have lots on your needles and these sock yarns are just edible!

Heh, I ALWAYS have lots on my needles. The amazing thing right now is that I’m actively working on so many of them. Oh, Céline, did I mention that Sweet Sheep is a Canadian shop that ships internationally? I’m sure you could get some sock yarn from them if you wanted. I just noticed that they have a very pretty brown and pink colorway up called Cupcake, talk about edible.

Yup, I’m not only an adict, I’m also an enabler.

3 Comments »

  1. Ingrid said,

    I love your swatches – they’re very delicate and pretty! Even the names are great: “The Cloisters”. I’m looking forward to FO photos for the Noni bag (though I bet you are too looking at the size of those flowers and the knitting involved. A foot per flower. My goodness.)

  2. Céline said,

    Hiya Nepehele,

    I just went to check out the SweetSheep Shop… argh! What a treasure chest! Thanks for the tip 🙂 I always appreciate a good enabler 😉

    As for the popularity thing… I think mass media have accustomed us to view popularity with “mass figures”, but those come from the fact that the offer (of TV shows for example) are relatively limited. Thus, lots of people watch a given show, but we know nothing of whether they love it, listen to it out of boredom, or if it just stands as background noise. As you pointed out, there are really lots and lots of blogs, with various purposes and profiles. They are more in the “micro-segment marketing” spectrum of things, if one wants to use these terms.

    In this particular case, you have to take into account that the L&V and the WTP are done by collectives to sustain a whole bunch of people to participate into a project. It is not a fair comparison for an individual blog IMO. We go to different types of blogs for different reasons.

    Personaly, what I like about blogs, is that I get to see and read things I would never get on mass media, they are more personal, and I have a much stronger feeling towards the blogs I like than towards TV shows, because I really have CHOICE and get a a feeling of the person who writes them.

    All this rambling on to say, hey, those who read your blog really like YOU and it is more about the quality of the feeling of your readership towards you than about the quantity of your readers.

    I ALWAYS am inspired by your blog 🙂

  3. Ingrid said,

    I second that. To use a TV analogy, “News Radio”, “Farscape”, and “Serenity” were woefully unpopular in the ratings, but brilliant and developed a loyal cult following. Your blog is like Farscape: brilliant with devoted readers, however small in number (for the time being). That being said, I missed knitting this weekend! Next Friday I’m there with all my UFO’s trailing behind me:)


Leave a Reply

