February 1, 2007

I’m a Joiner

Posted in Knitalongs, knitting at 3:24 pm by nephele

I like to join things. With all the UFOs I’ve already accumulated I’ve been avoiding investigating the standard Knit-a-longs. The knitting games are getting me in enough trouble. I’m getting knitting related repetitive stress injuries – Knitter’s elbow. It’s happened before so I know how to treat it and still keep knitting. To be fair, it was really the last minute rush jobs for TNNA that killed my arm. If I’d taken a few days off after that I’d be okay now. I’ve really only got myself to blame.

Anyway, joining, that’s what I was talking about. I’ve joined a few more things. I’ve already mentioned Project Spectrum 2.0. It starts today. The first triad of colors are blue, white and gray. That’s pretty much the colors of my blog already so I won’t be making any changes there yet. WordPress makes it easy to quickly alter the look and colors of your blog so latter on I will be using that feature to keep things matching the Spectrum colors. I’ve been trying to figure out how I’m going to really use the colors. Well, now I’ve got something, I joined another project. This one is an effort to get all of the patterns from the Barbara Walker Treasuries knit up and photographed in color. It’s called the Walker Treasury Project. Want to knit a swatch or twelve? Join up, there’s plenty to go around. My plan is to knit all of my swatches in the current Project Spectrum colors. I’m going to purchase similar weight yarn (probably dk or worsted) in the various colors. Once I’m done (or done enough) I’ll start putting the swatches together into a blanket. It will, no doubt be a crazy looking concontion, but what the heck. I bet I’ll have fun doing it.

The other thing I joined, or at least signed up for, is Secret Pal 10. I’ve wanted to do one of these since I first stumbled accross it but before now I didn’t have the required blog. Now I do, so…

Sarah said:

That shrug is going to be fabulous. Which cashmere are you using?

I don’t have the yarn label handy but I’m pretty sure it’s Classic Elite Lavish. It will indead be fabu but it’s still not my color, darn it.

Hey look – three posts in one week! I’m really cooking now.

3 Comments »

  1. Ingrid said,

    The Walker Treasury project swatch blanket sounds interesting! What does one do for knitter’s elbow? Epsom salt baths (I treat all my injuries with a hot bath)? I second the shrug love. It’s going to be fabulous:)

  2. Sarah said,

    Oooh, the Lavish is yummy. That whole line of cashmere and blends is just so plump and squooshy. I like the Walker Treasury project idea — I’m going to check that out.

  3. Theresa said,

    Thanks for pointing out the Walker Treasury Project – what a great idea!


Leave a Reply

