January 15, 2007

Let the Games Begin!

Posted in Knitalongs, knitting at 12:47 pm by nephele

I had so much fun with Sock Wars that I signed up for two more games both of which started in January. Lucky for me, they didn’t start the same day. What was I thinking? Anyway… The pattern for the second game, Death by Socks, came out today. The good news is that I finished the first hat for Headgames last night. Here it is:

headgames1

My target loves green (but not lime green) so I think she’ll like this. The yarn is Classic Elite Waterlily color#1960. It’s 100% Merino. I think my victim will appreciate that as well. She lives in a part of the US that gets real winters.

I’ve got yarn and needles with me today so I can get going on Death socks. I picked up some more of the Claudia’s for this in the Purple Earth color. These will take a little longer to finish (sock yarn) but I’ll do my best.

In unrelated good news I got a present on Friday. A friend of mine, Sarah, got a spinning wheel last month and has been having fun with it. She spun up some fabulous roving called Wild Thing. You can see the unspun stuff on her blog. Here is the finished product (which is now mine!):

sarah1

And here it is after a spin on the swift and ball winder:

sarah2

There’s about 90 grams. She was going for a two-ply sock yarn and she did a pretty good job I’d say. I haven’t decided what I’ll do with it yet, socks or armwarmers are the leading contenders. I do think I’ll go ahead and split it in to two balls. There should be plenty of yardage but I always get a bit paranoid about that sort of thing. If I make two balls then I know I’ll be okay or at least I’ll know I’m not okay when I get near the end of the first piece. Maybe I’ll do toe up socks. That way I can just knit until I run out. Suggestions?

I have a bit of time before I have to make a decision. I need to concentrate on the Deathsocks right now. I think I’ll take a coffee break and go cast on.

1 Comment »

  1. Sarah said,

    The Waterlily hat is so cute! I love how the subtle varigation works with the cable. Glad you like the sock yarn! 🙂


Leave a Reply

