December 20, 2006

Hello Blog

Posted in knitting at 12:52 pm by nephele

How are you? I’m fine, just busy. This is just a quick note to let you know I’m still around. 🙂

I’ve got a couple of comments to catch up on…

Sarah said:

The afghan looks fabulous! Every time I’ve seen it I’ve thought the colors reminded me of someplace but I wasn’t able to think of it — and now I have — the colors remind me of the Grand Canyon, all those lovely striations of browns and ochres and salmony pinks. I can’t wait to see what’s on your needles next!

Grand Canyon was good since I was going for earthtones. As for what’s on my needles, remember this from the UFO parade?

UFOshrug 001

I love the yarn but wasn’t loving the results. Mostly I was just concerned that I was going through it too quickly. So after a quick dip in the frog pond it’s back on the needles. It’s still intended to be a shrug but this time I’m making it a top down raglan. I got to the point where you’d normally put the sleeves on hold and finish the body but since this is a shrug I put the body on hold and I’m working on the sleeves. I also changes from 2×2 rib to k3, p1 rib. It’s been cold enough lately that I really want this done so I’ve been working on it to the exclusion of everything else. Of course as soon as I finish it it’ll get warm again.

Rebecca said:

I love the new socks! Can you share the pattern for Rib of Doom?

Sure. You can actually still get the entire Sock of Doom pattern off of Yarn Monkey’s blog. But the rib pattern itself is pretty simple. Work over a multiple of 6 stitches (I used 66). Row 1: K3, p3 repeat to end. Row 2: K1, p1 repeat to end. That’s it, just repeat those two rows. Part of the reason I picked those socks for my commute knitting was because I wanted something mindless and easy enough to work with only a street-lamp for light. My other two socks in progress are lace. Neither is very difficult but if I did make a mistake I wouldn’t have enough light to fix it. Better safe than annoyed I figure.

That’s it for now. Maybe over Christmas I can dig out and photogragh the rest of my UFOs.

Leave a Reply

