October 31, 2006

Socktober Never Ends

Posted in Knitalongs, knitting at 11:49 am by nephele

Here it is already Socktober 31st and I’m not ready for it to end. I’ve got way to much sock knitting to do. But the calendar has spoken. This was my first Socktoberfest so lets see how I did.

I finished a pair of socks at the beginning of the month (before I started the blog). Here they are:

The yarn is Koigu KPPPM and the pattern is my own (with thanks to Barbara Walker).

Score: 1 point

The 3 unfinished pairs of socks from my UFO list:

 

Progress? The cuff of sock 2 in the first pair is now about twice as long as what you see here. The others haven’t been touched.

Score: 0.2

Sock Wars Socks:

The first pair don’t count, they were finished in September. Pair 3 was only partially knit by me but pair 2 counts in full.

Score: 1.6

My sock yarn stash that still needs knitting:

 Part 1 – Trekking XXL

 

Part 2 – Koigu KPPPM

 

Part 3 – Schaefer Anne

Part 4 – (from left) Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport, Blue Moon Sock That Rock x2, Mountain Colors Bearfoot

Part 5 – Lang JaWoll. I’m looking at these colors now and thinking Arrrgyles.

Part 6 – Regia lots of Regia

Part 7 – (from left) Opal, Lana Grossa Meilenweit, GGH Marathon, Knit Picks Memories (the hanks), Knit Picks Essentials, Schoeller+Stahl Socka, Schoeller-Esslinger Fortissima, Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock

The two Knit Picks yarns were purchase with a plan in mind. I want to use them together in a fair isle patterned sock. The Shepherd Sock is also planned for. I want to make a pair of mitred square socks. The rainbow yarn will alternate with a solid in the miters.

Notice how almost all of the hanks are already wound? Makes me look all prepared to start knitting doesn’t it? This could be a small part of the problem. When I’m itching to start something different there’s no prep time during which I might reconsider. I’m doomed.

Score: never-mind

Just one small corner of my stash. See? The number of UFOs I have is actually proportional to the size of my stash. I’m perfectly normal (for sufficiently large values of normal).

I did make some good progress on my Christmas knitting though.

I feel good about this. I nearly always work better when there is a deadline involved. I don’t always enjoy it as much – especially when the deadline looms – but I at least manage to stay faithful to one project for a bit longer.

3 Comments »

  1. Céline said,

    Geesh. You’re giving me a bad case of stash envy!

  2. Ingrid said,

    Wow! That Trekking XXL is gorgeous, and I think you know how I feel about the koigu. Precious, precious koigu.

  3. Katie said,

    Wow! What a collection of sock yarn you have! It’s enough to make a girl jealous.


Leave a Reply

