April 17, 2008

Marching Onward!

Posted in Knitalongs, knitting, Spinning at 5:48 pm by nephele

Yup, it’s time for the March recap. This wasn’t as busy a month as April so the list will be shorter.

I picked up some close out yarn from Webs. It was Elsebeth Lavold Hempathy in a nice berry color. I bought 10 balls figuring I’d make a tank top or some such. Then I found a pattern in the spring Knit Simple which match yardage-wise and was cute. It’s the Scallop Edge Pullover. I’ve only just started though so there’s not much to see, just a picot hem:
scallopedge

It’s a lot of stockinette in the round at a fairly small gauge. I’ll be lucky if I finish this one by summer 2009. It’ll make a great travel project though. Maybe I should go somewhere…

I signed up for another couple of mystery knit a longs. I’m trying to keep up with one of them though I’m about a week behind right now. It’s the Mystic Light Shawl. It has the advantage of using finger yarn instead of lace weight. I bought some Koigu a couple of years ago that fit the bill nicely. Here’s the shawl at about halfway through clue 2 of 5:
mysticlight

I actually managed to finish something in March too. A freind is pregnant and I wanted to make a sweater for the new baby. I used some Rowan Wool Cotton from my stash and did a variation on the Fair Isle Cardigan from Vogue Knitting On the Go: Baby Knits Two. Here’s the finished sweater:
baby jacket
baby jacket back

I like it and even better, my friend liked it too.

Speaking of gifts… You might remember way back in October I picked up some roving to spin up and knit something for my Mom. Well her birthday is in May so I finally got to work on it in March.

I spun up the yarn (merino/tencel)
Grape Goddess1
Grape Goddess2
And knitted a simple scarf
momscarf

The scarf is a bit short but my mother doesn’t like things that wrap around her neck so this length is perfect for her. By the way, sorry about the fuzzy picture. I used this one because it shows the colors better than the flash photos of the yarn itself. That Tencel sure is shiny.

Kind of short but the that was about it for March. Next time I’ll be posting about the month it actually is!

2 Comments »

  1. Gretchen said,

    The baby sweater is elegant. Did you steek it or work back and forth?

  2. Nicole said,

    I love the baby sweater, especially the colors!

    Elsebeth Lavold’s yarns are yummy.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

